Wanderlust.

Alexandria Cooper
2 min readJan 17, 2022

--

A poem about losing depression and finding hope.

I want to get away from here

Take me on a voyage to the moon

I want to hear your beautiful voice ramble

I want to smell your sweet perfume

I want to go touring the seven seas and exploring the lands

I want to go dancing the night away on the dry crisp sand

I want to go out just to laugh at your stupid jokes,

I want to make you feel important, just so you’ll remember that I love you so.

I want to do anything just to take a trip away

I want this to be, an expedition you’ll remember until your hair withers and wilts the color gray

I want to fill you up with all the love I’ve ever known, so whenever you feel sad, you’ll remember our journeys away from home

I want you to remember how much I’ll always have your back

So when depression comes peeping in you’ll close every crack

Whenever you see my face, I want the sight of me to remind you that everything will be ok

Because after the clouds run away, the sun comes in and brings a new day

The inspiration for this poem comes from knowing people who have suffered from depression.

I imagined the reader was my best friend who currently suffered from depression, and I (the writer), just wanting more than anything to make them happy. I wanted this poem to appeal to the reader by using the popular topic of traveling. Thanks for reading!

-Alexandria

--

--

Alexandria Cooper

Wife || Mama Bear & Self Help Fanatic! I write about Self Help, Christianity & Parenting.